I don’t know why I buy zucchini…no one likes it.  I’ve learned that the best way to cook it is to gently saute it in butter for just two or three minutes; that helps a lot, but it’s still not a favorite.  Tonight I had some and looked up some ideas for what to do with it on my favorite recipe search engine, Recipe Puppy, and came up with this winner: 

Middle Eastern Zucchini Casserole

Cook separately:  1 1/2 cups rice (uncooked measure), 1/2 to 1 lb ground beef, 2-3 zucchini sliced (saute in butter, for only a minute or two).   I also added some dill and salt to it. 

Combine rice and ground beef.  Add:

1 tsp allspice

1/2 to 1 tsp cinnamon

1 to 1/2 tsp salt

The recipe at this point says to add tomato sauce, but I felt that would be too tomato-y so I made a cheese sauce (white sauce with cheese) and added a little bit of tomato sauce to that, and mixed it in with the rice and beef. 

Layer in baking dish zucchini slices, layer of beef mixture, zucchini again, beef again, top with zucchini and some more tomato or cheese/tomato sauce.  I put on a little grated cheese too.  (Oh, and I had no more zucchini left, so there were only two layers of that.  That’s enough!

Bake in oven until hot at 350 or 400.

Serve with plain yogurt. 

You could also make the filling and stuff it into zucchini that have been halved lengthwise and scooped out. 

I can’t believe Shana liked all that allspice! And now that I think about it…she didn’t eat the zucchini after all.  But she did like something that was not Plain Jane boring, so that’s still a good thing! 

Let me know if you try it!

