I’m exhausted and busy so I won’t be able to write as much about this great evening as I’d like, but I at least wanted to mention it while it’s still fresh in my mind.

The Covenant Awards are being held in Calgary this weekend, bringing many big-name Christian artists to the city.  One of them was Brian Doerksen.  Brian and his producer and co-writer and background vocalist and keyboardist, Philip Janz, and band, put on a concert at Centre Street Church last night.  And at the last minute (last Sunday actually) I heard they wanted a choir to join them.  I jumped at the chance!

We weren’t the most organised choir–meeting for the first time two hours before the concert, with no sheet music, only lyric sheets.  But Brian and Philip are so relaxed, even though they had expected us to have practiced the pieces beforehand, they took it all in stride and just told us if we can’t remember our parts, sing loud and have fun!  And did we ever.

Brian doesn’t really do “concerts”, he does “worship services”.  He looks and talks and sings like just another regular guy who loves God.  That’s what I most enjoyed about singing with him.  For me being in front of 500 people still makes me a bit self-conscious, so I’d say I could have worshiped more freely if I were in the audience rather than on stage, but I wouldn’t have switched places for anything.  This was one of those once-in-a-lifetime opportunities for me, and I’m glad I was able (and Helen enabled me!) to be so spontaneous.

Yes, I bought a CD in the lobby and got it autographed.  🙂

But I was out of the house at 6 am and didn’t get back until nearly midnight, so I’m bushed!  Good night!

Nate

