I thought this was the easy pick at Blockbuster on the weekend, a definite win.  Look at all the big-name holywood actors:  Bill Murray, Cate Blanchett, Anjelica Huston, Willem Dafoe, Jeff Goldblum, Owen Wilson…  Those who know me know I’m really not up on actors, but I know most of those names and I’ve loved them in other movies.

What a disappointment!  I spent most of the movie wondering if there was going to be some punchline at the end that would reveal the whole story as a joke.  I think the problem is an unbalanced mix of humour and seriousness.  Plenty of great one-liners from Murray and others, but the serious storylines were too serious to be mixed with that humour.  It reminded me of Sahara, another movie I barely made it through because of how it combined the heart-wrenching subjects of epidemics among the poor and civil unrest alongside the triviality of a constant stream of witty one-liners by the two main characters.

Definite waste of a rare evening when the kids actually got to bed on time!

Sorry for posting two negative movie reviews back to back!  I’m not an overly-critical movie-goer normally, promise!  I just happened to get a couple of duds this time.

