I picked this movie out at Blockbuster because I like word plays and because even after reading the single-paragraph description on the cover, I had no clue what it was about.

I’ll speak for myself, but I think Helen felt similarly.  After watching Palindromes I was happy to have watched it because it was different than anything else I’ve seen (and I like expanding my horizons), but I wouldn’t exhuberantly recommend you go rent it tonight.

It follows the life of Aviva, a 13-year old girl whose only desire is to have lots of babies, because they’re cute.  (The scary thing is I could see Shana being like that!)  You see her and her parents and other characters learning some tough lessons through her experience.  The author’s message, though, is that nobody can ever really change.  So although several characters make some strong and tearful confessions that “I’ve changed, I’m a new person,” you can tell they really haven’t deep down.  This leaves you in the end with a rather depressed, fatalistic view of life.

The most interesting cinematographic technique in the movie was its use of half a dozen or so different actresses–of various ages, sizes and races–to act the part of Aviva.  The purpose, I believe, was to show that who you are is deeper than what you look like.  As the viewer, you didn’t grow attached to the main character’s appearance, but her personality (which was the same no matter which actress was playing the part).  I felt that was a neat twist and made an otherwise depressing movie more interesting.

Definitely not for young kids, and don’t watch this for a fun evening at the movies.  But if you want something different and thought-provoking it might be worth it.  Just be prepared for discussions about abortion, sex, right and wrong, and of course the meaning of life.

